This Woman You Gave Me

It is the woman you gave me Lord.

This woman so pleasing;

But so deceiving;

This woman you gave me,

Has broken my heart,

And gone with my worth,

It’s this woman you gave me,

That made me sin,

And made me clean no more;

It is the friends you gave me,

This friends,

Who drove to the wrong lane,

I thought they were good lord,

And now I know they were crude,

It is my brothers and sisters,

My brothers and sisters you gave me,

Who made me steal and kill,

It is not in me blood to spill,

It is bottle you put in my hands Lord;

That made me shout and fight,

And made me lose my way;

It is these eyes you gave me Lord;

That can’t help but see,

Then my flesh can’t but want,

It is the wealth that you gave me Lord,

And the good things I can get;

That make me look down on others,

It is not my fault that I am not humble,

It is the loose tongue you gave me Lord,

That makes me cause disunity,

It is not my fault that I gossip,

I can’t just help it,

It is this hands you gave me,

That are sometimes too weak to work,

It is this woman you gave me

# SIMPLE TRUTHS

Published by Poetic Fountain

Ouma Kizito Ajuong is a poet in Nairobi, Kenya. He tells the African narrative through this interesting wave of rhyme, word play, and poetry. his interest in poetry started when he was still a young boy in his early days at primary level education, where he found an artistic touch of story telling. He creates this platform to spin the wheels of African Culture, fairy tales, beauty and prestige through poetry while keeping up with the modern way of life. Kizito is also an Author of a book Bhind the Curtains which is an Anthology of 94 poems blended with an African touch. # Africa for the People of Africa Poetic Fountain; Like the purity and sanctity of a river, the fountain flows. Bringing with it novelty like never before, a poetic blend of the classical and modern style of writing while telling the African story through different themes and maintaining the educative value and purity of poetry

Leave a comment